back

Software I use

Here is a list of software i use (on wayland):


Operating System

I use Void Linux, Void is an independent Linux distro, meaning its not based on something like Arch or Debian, its just based.

It doesn't use SystemD, it uses its own init system called runit.

While im not to fussy about using SystemD, i just prefer to avoid it because low ram releases the happy juice in my brain.

I like how its minimal like *BSD, just that i wont lose my sanity when using it (i hope).

Terminal

foot. It just works, extra configuration isn't really needed unless you want to change the color scheme or something.

DE/WM

River and yambar. If you use(d) bspwm then setting up river with be easy.

Configuration for river is done inside a bash script (like bspwm). And yambar uses a yaml file, took a while for me to setup but its manageable.

Text Editor

Vim, not much too it other than it just works.

I got tired of using nvi because it didn't have all the feature vim has, and i value my mental health.

I might try vis sometime.

I use nvi, its a rewrite of vi used for *BSD (like doas is to sudo), it's lightweight (compared to vim), and just works.

It comes preinstalled on Void and i couldn't find a reason to install something else since its already very minimal.

Image Editor

If i need to edit an image, i use ImageMagick or GIMP.

I never really need to do anything crazy with images (just resizing, converting format, etc), so its more than enough.

Image Viewer

imv, its works fine so far. It has native wayland and xorg support, and its fairly lightweight too.

Video Player

I use MPV, it also just werks and isn't too bloated.

And with yt-dlp you can stream youtube from it.

Shell

I use oksh as my shell, oksh is a port to linux of *bsd's ksh.

Its a little like dash, but more usable as an interactive shell compared to dash.

Web Browser

Firefox with the arkenfox.js

I used qutebrowser before but i got tired of having to hack together scripts because of its lack of an extension system. firefox just works

File Manager

I use cd, cat, less, mv, cp, rm, shred, ls and pcmanfm when absolutely necessary.